Bar Pro Bono Awards 2018

in association with the Bar Council 


Since 1997 the Bar Pro Bono Award has been given every year in recognition of outstanding commitment to pro bono work by a barrister or chambers. Since then pro bono has developed, broadened and grown, and it is increasingly difficult to choose one winner from a set of nominees clearly working in different areas. We are therefore delighted  to announce the introduction of nine separate categories for which nominations will be accepted in future. The new categories are:

  • Young Pro Bono Barrister of the Year, sponsored by Place Campbell
  • Junior Pro Bono Barrister of the Year, sponsored by Juriosity
  • Pro Bono QC of the Year, sponsored by Judicial & Silk (formerly 'JSB Judicial')
  • International Pro Bono Barrister of the Year
  • Employed Pro Bono Barrister of the Year
  • Pro Bono Chambers' Staff Member of the Year, sponsored by the Legal Practice Management Association
  • Pro Bono Innovation of the Year, sponsored by Lexis Nexis
  • Pro Bono Chambers of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement in Pro Bono, the Sydney Elland Goldsmith Award

To nominate someone, you must:

  • fill in the nomination form below;
  • send in with at least two supporting letters.

Nominations received will be published in the awards brochure, distributed at the Bar Conference on Saturday 24th November 2018, and on the Bar Pro Bono Unit website. 

The deadline for nominations is Wednesday 3rd October 2018

Please click here for the nomination form.

Bar Pro Bono Awards winners and nominees events

All nominees will be invited to an Awards evening taking place on Wednesday 24th October 2018 at which winners of most categories will be announced.

The winner of Pro Bono Young Barrister of the Year and the 2018 winner of Lifetime Achievement in Pro Bono will be presented with their awards at this year’s Bar Conference, which takes place on Saturday 24th November 2018.